Our School  »  Catholic Life

RE Curriculum Newsletters

Please open the relevant document below to find out about what your child is learning and what you can do to support your child's learning across the RE curriculum.

Sacramental Preparation Programme
First Holy Communion 2016-17
 
Sun 20th Nov at 12pm 2016 -  Deadline for applications to Fr Polland (applications available from Fr Polland on the weekends of 6th, 13th and 20th November)
 
Tues 29th November 2016 -  Parents’ Meeting at 7:30pm at St Peter’s
 
3rd/4th December 2016 - Presentation of God’s Greatest Gift books during Mass
 
Thurs 23rd February 2017 -  Parents’ Meeting at 7:30pm at St Peter’s
                  
Tues 7th March 2017 -  Sacrament of Reconciliation – St. Peter’s – 6:00pm
 
Thurs 11th May 2017 -  Parents’ Meeting at 7:30pm at St Peter’s
 
Sat 20th May 2017 -  First Holy Communion Mass St. Peter’s 11am
 
Date Week
 
Details of Lesson/
Reference to ‘God’s Greatest Gift’ Book
Mon 9th Jan 1 The Gift of Creation
Pages 6-22
Mon 16th Jan 2 A Very special Gift
Pages 22-40
Mon 23rd Jan 3 The Gift of Baptism
Pages 40-52
Mon 30th Jan 4 The Gift of God’s Word
Pages 52-66
Mon 6th February 5 The Gift of Friendship
Pages 66 -76
February Half-Term Holidays
Mon 27th February 6 The Gift of Forgiveness
Pages 76 -90
Tues 7th March 6pm - Reconciliation Service at St Peter’s Belle Isle
Mon 13th March 7 The Gift of Peace
Pages 90-102
Mon 27th Mar 8 The Gift of Joy
Pages 102-112
Easter Holidays
Mon 24th April 9 The Greatest Gift
Pages 112-128
Mon 8th May 10 Our Gift to God
Pages 128-end
To be confirmed First Holy Communion Mass Practice
(in school time at St Peter’s Church)
Sat 20th   May 11am - First Holy Communion Mass at St Peter’s Belle Isle
  
Please ensure that your child completes each chapter after each session so that they are ready to start the next chapter.

Children MUST have their God's Greatest Gift  book with them at each session. 
 
Year 2 lead an assembly about St. Joseph

To celebrate the feast day of St. Joseph, Year 2 lead the school in an assembly. They gave clues as to what was special about the day before revealing the statue of St. Joseph. All the children, adults and parents were then given a pebble to place at the feet of St. Joseph to show that we belong to a school named after him.

First Holy Communion

Congratulations to the sixteen children who made their First Holy Communion at St Peter's church on the 9th May.  After many months of First Holy Communion classes the children were well prepared for this important occasion and their conduct was an example for us all.  Many thanks to Mrs Scott and Mrs Hewson for giving up their own time in order to prepare the children for both the Sacrament of Reconciliation and Sacrament of Holy Communion.  Thanks to Fr. Eamon and Deacon Gerry for all their hard work ensuring that the day was such a special occasion for all concerned.
Mini Vinnies Commissioning Ceremony

On Wednesday 30th March 10 children were commissioned in  a special assembly. Many children were eager to become members of this new group. They all wrote an application form saying why wanted to join the group.