Our School  »  Curriculum

Curriculum in Key Stages 1 and 2
Here at St Joseph’s we follow the statutory 2014 National Curriculum in Years 1-6 (Key Stages 1 and 2) for:
·         English
·         maths
·         science
·         design and technology
·         history
·         geography
·         art and design
·         music
·         physical education (PE), including swimming
·         information and communication technology (ICT)
You can access the programmes of study for these subjects for both key stages by clicking on this link:
Curriculum in Early Years
In Reception Class we follow the statutory Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework which covers the seven areas of learning:
The prime areas of learning are:
·         communication and language
·         physical development
·         personal, social and emotional development
The specific areas of learning are:
·         literacy
·         mathematics
·         understanding the world
·         expressive arts and design
You can access the EYFS Framework by clicking on this link:
RE Curriculum
RE is taught across the whole school following the scheme ‘The Way, The Truth and The Life’.  Pupils are taught a different unit of work per half term (as referenced on the year group long term plans).  Teaching about other faiths is covered within this scheme of work but in addition pupils are taught discretely about Judaism for a week in the Autumn Term each year and then about another major faith for a week during Spring Term.
Further information about our RE scheme can be found by clicking on this link
The Teaching of Reading
Phonics is systematically taught daily throughout Reception, Year 1 and Year 2 following the ‘Letters and Sounds’ scheme. Pupils who continue to need phonics teaching in Key Stage 2 receive this as necessary.